Denny Hamlin finds redemption with Playoff victory at ISM Raceway

November 10, 2019

By Reid Spencer
NASCAR Wire Service

AVONDALE, Ariz. – Out, demon!

Denny Hamlin’s exorcism is complete. At ISM Raceway, the site of one of his biggest disappointments, Hamlin barged back into the Championship 4 with a dominating victory in Sunday’s Bluegreen Vacations 500.

Hamlin joins Joe Gibbs Racing teammates Martin Truex Jr. and Kyle Busch, Sunday’s runner-up, in the Nov. 17 race for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series title at Homestead-Miami Speedway. The three JGR drivers will battle Kevin Harvick of Stewart-Haas Racing for the trophy.

After losing control of his car and sliding off Turn 4 last Sunday at Texas Motor Speedway, Hamlin fell 20 points below the cut line for the Championship 4 entering the Phoenix race. But with his victory, Hamlin knocked defending champion Joey Logano out of title contention.

“I can’t believe it,” exulted Hamlin, who picked up his sixth victory of the season, his second at ISM Raceway and the 27th of his career. “This race team worked so hard this whole year. They deserve to be there. I put them in a bad hole last week.

“I told them today in the meeting, I said, ‘I’m going to give everything I’ve got to make up for the mistake I made last week.’ That’s all I got.’

Logano finished ninth on Sunday and ended the Round of 8 fifth in the standings and seven points behind Busch, who grabbed the last berth in the title race.

Hamlin led a race-high 143 laps, including 142 of the last 146, and built a lead of more than 12 seconds before surrendering the top spot for four laps during a cycle of green-flag pit stops. Hamlin’s advantage was more than nine seconds when John Hunter Nemechek’s Ford slapped the Turn 1 to cause the fifth and final caution.

“One of the best cars of my career, I can tell you that,” said Hamlin, who came to Phoenix as the championship favorite in 2010, only to lose 18 points of his 33-point lead on a misguided pit call. “Fast car. But, yeah, I pushed for all I had.

“I mean, that’s all I got. Once we got the big lead there, a little over 10 seconds, I just kind of sat there. I got to thinking about if the caution does come out, I want to lap as many (cars) as I can.”

A week after his 2010 misfortune at Phoenix, a shell-shocked Hamlin spun early and lost the title to Jimmie Johnson. In contrast, it was a focused and determined Hamlin who showed up at Phoenix on Sunday.

Busch led the first 69 laps of the race but lost the first stage to Hamlin after Ricky Stenhouse Jr.’s collision with the Turn 4 wall caused the first caution of the afternoon. When the race came down to a restart with three laps left, Busch couldn’t keep up with his teammate and finished .377 seconds behind the No. 11 Toyota Camry.

“Just didn’t quite have enough,” Busch said. “I knew the 11 was the best car in practice. I knew we were going to be about third to fifth. We were second. Guys did a great job, this M&M Toyota Camry was good.

“It’s cool to have a chance to go race for a championship. Just keep coming up short.”

Logano led 93 laps, won the second stage and was out front until Hamlin passed him for the lead on Lap 177. From that point, Logano dropped like a rock to 11th and fell a lap down to Hamlin before third-place finisher Ryan Blaney started a cycle of green-flag stops on Lap 243 of 312.

Kyle Larson ran fourth and failed to advance to the Championship 4, as did Blaney and Chase Elliott, who rocketed into the Turn 1 wall with a flat left rear tire on Lap 166 and finished 39th.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Race – 32nd Annual Bluegreen Vacations 500
ISM Raceway
Avondale, Arizona
Sunday, November 10, 2019

1. (3) Denny Hamlin (P), Toyota, 312.
2. (1) Kyle Busch (P), Toyota, 312.
3. (10) Ryan Blaney (P), Ford, 312.
4. (5) Kyle Larson (P), Chevrolet, 312.
5. (7) Kevin Harvick (P), Ford, 312.
6. (4) Martin Truex Jr. (P), Toyota, 312.
7. (9) Erik Jones, Toyota, 312.
8. (13) Clint Bowyer, Ford, 312.
9. (2) Joey Logano (P), Ford, 312.
10. (12) Brad Keselowski, Ford, 312.
11. (8) Kurt Busch, Chevrolet, 312.
12. (19) Paul Menard, Ford, 312.
13. (16) Matt DiBenedetto, Toyota, 312.
14. (22) Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 312.
15. (15) Daniel Suarez, Ford, 312.
16. (17) Chris Buescher, Chevrolet, 311.
17. (18) William Byron, Chevrolet, 311.
18. (20) Ryan Newman, Ford, 311.
19. (24) Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford, 311.
20. (29) Ty Dillon, Chevrolet, 311.
21. (27) Daniel Hemric #, Chevrolet, 311.
22. (11) Aric Almirola, Ford, 310.
23. (14) Alex Bowman, Chevrolet, 310.
24. (28) Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 309.
25. (23) Bubba Wallace, Chevrolet, 308.
26. (25) Ryan Preece #, Chevrolet, 307.
27. (26) John Hunter Nemechek(i), Ford, 307.
28. (32) Ross Chastain(i), Chevrolet, 307.
29. (39) JJ Yeley(i), Ford, 306.
30. (21) Michael McDowell, Ford, 306.
31. (35) Garrett Smithley(i), Chevrolet, 304.
32. (34) Bayley Currey(i), Chevrolet, 304.
33. (33) Landon Cassill(i), Chevrolet, 303.
34. (36) Joe Nemechek(i), Chevrolet, 296.
35. (31) Corey LaJoie, Ford, 294.
36. (30) David Ragan, Ford, Suspension, 261.
37. (37) Reed Sorenson, Chevrolet, Brakes, 226.
38. (38) Joey Gase(i), Toyota, Engine, 170.
39. (6) Chase Elliott (P), Chevrolet, Accident, 165.

Average Speed of Race Winner: 111.429 mph.
Time of Race: 2 Hrs, 48 Mins, 0 Secs. Margin of Victory: .377 Seconds.
Caution Flags: 5 for 32 laps.
Lead Changes: 8 among 5 drivers.
Lap Leaders: K. Busch (P) 1-69;B. Keselowski 70-72;D. Hamlin (P) 73-82;J. Logano (P) 83-153;D. Hamlin (P) 154;J. Logano (P) 155-176;D. Hamlin (P) 177-246;K. Busch 247-250;D. Hamlin (P) 251-312.
Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Lead, Laps Led): Denny Hamlin (P) 4 times for 143 laps; Joey Logano (P) 2 times for 93 laps; Kyle Busch (P) 1 time for 69 laps; Kurt Busch 1 time for 4 laps; Brad Keselowski 1 time for 3 laps.
Stage #1 Top Ten: 11,9,18,22,42,2,12,24,4,1
Stage #2 Top Ten: 22,11,9,18,12,19,4,42,2,1