John Hunter Nemechek overcomes penalty for second Xfinity Series victory

October 16, 2021

By Holly Cain
NASCAR Wire Service

John Hunter Nemechek overcame a late race pit penalty to rally through the field and take his second career NASCAR Xfinity Series victory Saturday in the Andy’s Frozen Custard 335 at Texas Motor Speedway – the first of three Playoff events that will set the Championship Four field for the season finale.

Nemechek, whose full-time job is contending for a NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship, is the third different driver to win an Xfinity Series race in the No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota joining Kyle Busch and Ty Gibbs – the trio combining for nine wins in 2021 in assorted part-time starts.

Nemechek’s victory by .956-seconds over Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Daniel Hemric marked the third win in four series Playoff races by a non-Playoff driver this season. It was the second Xfnity Series win in the 24-year old Nemechek’s career – the other coming at Kansas Speedway in 2018.

A penalty during a pit stop – a crewman coming over the wall too soon – took Nemechek from the lead to 18th position for a restart with 51 laps remaining. Far from crushing his hopes, it motivated Nemechek and his team.

During a pit stop on the 10th and final caution period with 28 laps remaining, Nemechek’s team called for a two-tire change while the rest of the contenders took four tires. The strategy put him on the front row for the re-start and he navigated his way forward and re-took the lead for good with 20 laps remaining.

“[Spotter] Stevie Reeves and [crew chief] Chris Gayle kept me calm,” said Nemechek, who led a race best 92 laps on the afternoon. “I’ve grown a lot as a driver and been put in positions like that in the truck series as well.

“Man, I can’t say enough about this whole team. The 54 has been fast every single week. My goal coming in was to win. I had to win to prove to myself I can do this.”

It marked the third runner-up finish for Hemric this season and the 10th of his Xfinity Series career as he races for his first career victory. He was the top Playoff driver on Saturday.

“They just made a really good call to take two [tires] there, obviously,” an understandably subdued Hemric said of Nemechek, adding, “Congratulations to those guys. We just weren’t quite good enough [to catch him].”

Those two Joe Gibbs Racing Toyotas were pretty much the story of the day. NASCAR Xfinity Series championship leader A.J. Allmendinger led the opening 13 laps and then his chief challenger, defending series champion Austin Cindric, took the lead, earning his 10th stage victory.

The JGR Toyotas pushed forward and started racking up the laps led. Nemechek won Stage 2 and primarily exchanged the lead with Hemric for the remainder of the race. The exception was a bold pit move – defending Texas winner Harrison Burton (also a JGR driver) opted not to pit on the last caution and led six laps before Nemechek overtook him and held the lead until the checkered flag.

JR Motorsports driver Noah Gragson finished third rallying from damage early in the race, followed by his teammate Justin Allgaier and Cindric.

Allmendinger was sixth, followed by Justin Haley, Burton, Michael Annett and Brandon Jones. All eight of the Playoff drivers were among the top 10 with Nemechek and Annett the exceptions.

The sixth-place finish for Allmendinger was good enough to keep him atop the championship standings by four points over Cindric. Allgaier is third, 26 points back and Gragson is fourth.

Despite his runner-up effort, Hemric is fifth, two points behind Gragson. Hailey is sixth (-6), Burton (-21) and Jones (-32) round out the Playoff standings.

The NASCAR Xfinity Series moves to the 1.5-mile Kansas Speedway for the second race of this Playoff round next Saturday afternoon, the Kansas Lottery 300 (3 p.m. ET, NBC, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Current NASCAR Cup Series rookie Chase Briscoe is the defending race winner. However, Jones is a two-time Kansas winner, taking back-to-back wins in Fall, 2019, and Spring, 2020.


NASCAR Xfinity Series Race – 17th Annual Andy’s Frozen Custard 335
Texas Motor Speedway
Fort Worth, Texas
Saturday, October 16, 2021

1. (10) John Hunter Nemechek(i), Toyota, 200.
2. (3) Daniel Hemric (P), Toyota, 200.
3. (5) Noah Gragson (P), Chevrolet, 200.
4. (6) Justin Allgaier (P), Chevrolet, 200.
5. (2) Austin Cindric (P), Ford, 200.
6. (1) AJ Allmendinger (P), Chevrolet, 200.
7. (4) Justin Haley (P), Chevrolet, 200.
8. (8) Harrison Burton (P), Toyota, 200.
9. (9) Michael Annett, Chevrolet, 200.
10. (7) Brandon Jones (P), Toyota, 200.
11. (13) Jeb Burton, Chevrolet, 200.
12. (20) Riley Herbst, Ford, 200.
13. (11) Sam Mayer #, Chevrolet, 200.
14. (22) Ryan Sieg, Ford, 200.
15. (32) Kaz Grala(i), Chevrolet, 200.
16. (26) Brett Moffitt, Chevrolet, 200.
17. (39) Bayley Currey(i), Chevrolet, 200.
18. (24) Tommy Joe Martins, Chevrolet, 200.
19. (15) Josh Williams, Chevrolet, 200.
20. (21) Austin Hill(i), Toyota, 199.
21. (12) Myatt Snider, Chevrolet, 199.
22. (30) Ryan Vargas #, Chevrolet, 199.
23. (23) Jeffrey Earnhardt, Chevrolet, 199.
24. (16) Alex Labbe, Chevrolet, 199.
25. (25) Kyle Weatherman, Chevrolet, 199.
26. (38) Joe Graf Jr., Chevrolet, 198.
27. (35) Mason Massey, Toyota, 196.
28. (28) Spencer Boyd(i), Chevrolet, 196.
29. (14) Jeremy Clements, Chevrolet, 196.
30. (37) Joey Gase, Chevrolet, 195.
31. (34) Jesse Little, Chevrolet, 195.
32. (31) Matt Mills, Chevrolet, 193.
33. (18) Brandon Brown, Chevrolet, Accident, 171.
34. (36) David Starr, Toyota, Engine, 152.
35. (40) CJ McLaughlin, Chevrolet, Suspension, 145.
36. (19) Landon Cassill, Chevrolet, Electrical, 108.
37. (27) Tanner Berryhill, Chevrolet, Accident, 100.
38. (29) Dylan Lupton, Toyota, Accident, 100.
39. (17) Jade Buford #, Chevrolet, Accident, 81.
40. (33) JJ Yeley, Chevrolet, Engine, 37.

Average Speed of Race Winner: 115.533 mph.
Time of Race: 2 Hrs, 35 Mins, 48 Secs. Margin of Victory: 1.316 Seconds.
Caution Flags: 10 for 54 laps.
Lead Changes: 8 among 5 drivers.
Lap Leaders: A. Allmendinger (P) 1-13;A. Cindric (P) 14-47;D. Hemric (P) 48-71;J. Nemechek(i) 72;D. Hemric (P) 73;J. Nemechek(i) 74-144;D. Hemric (P) 145-174;H. Burton (P) 175-180;J. Nemechek(i) 181-200.
Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Lead, Laps Led): John Hunter Nemechek(i) 3 times for 92 laps; Daniel Hemric (P) 3 times for 55 laps; Austin Cindric (P) 1 time for 34 laps; AJ Allmendinger (P) 1 time for 13 laps; Harrison Burton (P) 1 time for 6 laps.
Stage #1 Top Ten: 22,9,16,7,1,11,20,51,02,68
Stage #2 Top Ten: 54,18,8,10,11,98,1,7,9,16