The Rolex 24 at Daytona — Who, What, Where, When, Why

Rolex 24

The highly anticipated 54th Rolex 24 At Daytona will be held Jan. 30-31 at Daytona International Speedway, as 54 drivers will face off in a 24-hour endurance battle on the superspeedway’s 3.56-mile road course. This also marks the debut of Daytona Rising, a $400 million renovation project of the track that began in 2014.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series wheelmen Jamie McMurray and Kyle Larson, along with IndyCar’s Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan, won the Prototype event last season for Chip Ganassi Racing and will team up again this year. Sprint Cup veteran AJ Allmendinger is also scheduled to compete.

When does it take place?
The race begins at 2:40 p.m. ET on Saturday, Jan 30 and concludes on Sunday, Jan. 31 at 2:40 p.m. ET, giving it the name “24 Hours of Daytona.”

How does it work?
Each team is comprised of four drivers and no drivers are allowed to be in a car for more than four hours during a six-hour time frame. However, each driver must drive for at least four hours and 30 minutes throughout the 24-hour period. Crew chiefs and crew members will also rotate throughout the event.

When the 24-hour time span concludes, the team that has wheeled the most miles in each class of cars – Prototype, Prototype Challenge, GT Daytona, GT Le Mans – will win their respective divisions.

How to watch?
Tune into FS1 and FS2 for the majority of the coverage. Fans can also stream FOX Sports Go online for the entire 24-hour period.